Aptitude Questions and Answers
A guy bought 10 pencils for Rs. 50 and sold them for Rs. 60.What is his gain in terms of percentage?
The cost of setting up a magazine is Rs. 2800. The cost of paper and ink etc is Rs. 80 per 100 copies and printing cost is Rs. 160 per 100 copies. In last month 2000 copies were printed but only 1500 copies could be sold at Rs. 5 each. Total 25% profit on the sale price was realized. There is one more resource of income from magazine which is advertising. What sum of money obtained from the advertising in magazine?
Set up cost = Rs. 2800
Paper etc = Rs. 1600
Printing cost = Rs. 3200
Total cost = Rs. 7600
Total sale price = 1500*5 = 7500
Let amount obtained from advertising be x then,
(7500+x)-7600 = 25 % of 7500
x = 1975.
A vendor sold the item at Rs. 500 with a profit margin of 25%. What is the cost price of the item?
`Profit % = ((Selli ng Price - Cost Price))/(Cost Price) * 100`
`=>25 = ((500-x))/(x)*100`
=> 125x = 50000
=> x = 400
A shopkeeper bought a box of 100 toffees for Rs. 200. His son ate 10 toffees (ofcourse, without paying!). At what S.P should each toffee be sold so shopkeeper makes an overall profit of 20%?
C.P for shopkeeper = Rs.200
Required Profit % = 20%
=> Required Total S.P = 1.2 * 200 = Rs. 240
Toffees Left = 100 - 10 = 90
S.P for Each Toffee = 240/90 = Rs. 2.67
A petrol pump owner mixes 1 litre of solvent in 9 litres of Petrol. The cost price of solvent is Rs. 10 per litre and that of petrol is Rs.70 per litre. The selling price of the mixture is Rs. 76.8 per litre. What is the profit percentage?
C.P. of 10 litres of Mixture = 10*1+70*9 = Rs.640
S.P. of 10 litres of Mixture = 76.8 * 10 = Rs. 768
Thus Profit % = `((768-640)/640)*100`
=> Profit % = 20%